HSPs in a World of Beauty

HSPs have a superpower: they can FEEL beauty.

Not that others can’t. But recent discussions with friends have given me the impression that it takes a lot more for some of them to get slightly ecstatic about something than it does for me.

This gives us a chance others do not seem to have in the same way. It is a chance to fill our lives with palpable beauty, investing comparably little effort to get there.

rounded_corners 1

A casual bike ride through the nearest park is so much more to me than a casual bike ride through the nearest park. It is green; the greenest of greens infusing my eyes, it is so beautiful with the light flickering through semi-transparent leaves and in between the tree stems racing by. It is air so clear and refreshing that I feel it is almost liquid and my lungs can drink it. It smells warm and earthy, I can tell that the scent of mud and moss and fallen leaves lower my pulse rate because it’s somehow… soothing. And when there’s puddles that reflect the blue and white of a cloud-patterned sky, then that is the end of it. I cannot stop expressing how amazing it all is (even just writing about it, recalling it in front of my inner eye, makes me excited again!), while my husband nods and says that yes, it’s nice. (Seriously? “Nice?”)

Perhaps he is the other extreme, or perhaps he just doesn’t use language the same way I do, or maybe he feels the same way but has no need to put it into words. I have no way of slipping into his nervous system to check out the difference. All I can tell is that I can get REALLY happy about things others seem to either barely notice or not find all that… bombastic. And people have actually remarked on how excited I can get about the pink of raspberries or the fluffiness of a squirrel (it’s a quality through which you can even make friends).

I am starting to understand and accept that it’s not that people aren’t trying enough to see all the beauty — and terror — of things. They probably see it. But from what I can tell, it’s not like they feel it the way an HSP does. Or rather: it takes more for a non-HSP to feel the same things as intensely. This is neither good nor bad. It’s just what it is. Both types of people are needed to make this species work. If you find a less sensitive (and let’s admit it, more stable) person that you very much like, they are a gift that you can hang on to; they can be your stabilizer, the anchor to quickly pull your way back to neutrality after a brief detour into the darkness of an experience you have just had. I know that my husband is this to me.

This whole feeling thing has marvelous implications, though, because actually feeling what we see means we can, to a great extent, influence how we feel. This, it just dawned on me, is awesome!

Find Beauty. Beauty can only be in the Now.

Next time you have a grumpy day, fellow HSPs, challenge yourself. This is a game I like to play: find the beautiful. Wherever you are. The other day, I was on my way to work, dreading everything ahead of me, and hating the train stop I was stuck at. My negativity repeated itself in vicious cycles of dark thoughts to the degree that THAT annoyed me, too. So I challenged myself. And I found beauty in the way the morning sunlight made ever-moving patterns on the cobblestone, the iridescent shade of dancing leaves like the ripples on water. This, I felt, was so beautiful! Next thing I know, I feel my face warming with a deep smile, and my chest filling with life and joy.

I was happy for quite a while after that.

(The photographs are from today’s morning round of “find the beautiful.” All of the walls were seen on my usual way to get groceries.)

rounded_corners 3

rounded_corners 2

